April 17, 2008

UNC holds annual team banquet

Chapel Hill - National Player of the Year Tyler Hansbrough earned Most Valuable Player honors, senior point guard Quentin Thomas was named most inspirational and most improved player and junior swingman Marcus Ginyard was named the best defender in the annual awards ceremony hosted by the University of North Carolina men's basketball team Thursday night at the Smith Center.

Hansbrough was also named the team's best rebounder and won the award for the highest field goal percentage. Thomas and Ginyard were named permanent captains in a vote of the teammates and coaches.

Other award recipients included Danny Green for the highest free throw percentage, Ty Lawson for the most assists and Bobby Frasor for the athletic director's scholar-athlete award.

The evening was capped by speeches from seniors Thomas and Surry Wood.

Here is a list of all the award winners at Thursday's banquet:

Martha Jordan Award (highest free throw percentage): Danny Green

Mary Frances Andrews Award (highest field goal percentage): Tyler Hansbrough

Foy Roberson Award (inspiration and behind the scenes contributions): Quentin Thomas

Jimmy Dempsey Award (most improved): Quentin Thomas

Oscar Vatz Award (rebounding): Tyler Hansbrough

John Lotz Award (assists): Ty Lawson

Carmichael Cobb Award (best defender): Marcus Ginyard

Burgess McSwain Award (top academics): Bobby Frasor

Most Valuable Player: Tyler Hansbrough

Team Captain: Quentin Thomas and Marcus Ginyard

Senior Awards: Quentin Thomas and Surry Wood


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.