October 5, 2010

Inside the stats: 'Canes, 'Noles know sacks

Each week during the season, we look at some statistics involving individuals and/or teams that we find intriguing. Here is this week's version:

1. Florida State finished last season with 25 sacks in 13 games; this season, the Seminoles already have reached that total in five games. Eleven players have at least one, and FSU has had at least one in each game. This week, FSU is at Miami -- and UM is No. 3 nationally with 17 sacks (UM is second in sacks per game, at 4.3). On the flipside, FSU has allowed 11 sacks and Miami has allowed six.

2. New Mexico State is the only team in the nation without a sack. The good news for the Aggies is that they have allowed just three. 3. Hawaii and N.C. State have played five games apiece -- and none of their opponents have made a field goal.

4. Oklahoma RB DeMarco Murray and Oklahoma State WR Justin Blackmon are tied for the national lead with 10 touchdowns apiece. There are 14 teams that haven't scored 10 touchdowns.

5. Florida has allowed 65 punt-return yards through five games; the Gators gave up 21 all of last season.

6. Oklahoma State P Quinn Sharp is doubling as the Cowboys' kickoff man this season, and he leads the nation -- by a wide margin -- in touchbacks. Of Sharp's 36 kickoffs, 29 have been touchbacks and none have gone out of bounds. Second is Florida State's Dustin Hopkins, with 19 touchbacks (he has kicked off 33 times) but also two out-of-bounds kicks. Sharp also is sixth nationally in punting, averaging 46.7 yards per boot.


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.