August 2, 2010

Burney, Williams on Thorpe Watch List

Oklahoma City--- University of North Carolina cornerback Kendric Burney and safety Deunta Williams have been named to the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list announced Monday.

The Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nation's top defensive back and is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards.

Both Burney and Williams have started all 38 games in their respective careers. Burney was a first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference selection in 2009 and a second-team pick in 2008. He intercepted five passes for 200 return yards a year ago, establishing an ACC single-game record with 170 interception return yards vs. Miami.

Williams also earned first-team All-ACC honors last season after recording 47 tackles and six interceptions for 114 return yards. The Jacksonville, N.C., native has 12 career interceptions, which ranks third all-time at UNC.

The award is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was a standout defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as "The Legend", Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Jim Thorpe Award "watch list" is determined by analysis of the pre-season All-American teams listed in at least six pre-season college football annual magazines. Four points are awarded for first team, three points for second team, two points for third and one point for honorable mentions. This procedure determines approximately 30-40 players on the pre-season watch list. This list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.

A "Screening Committee" of Jim Thorpe Association members follows these players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade Thorpe Award candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The committee meets on the first Monday in November to narrow the field to 10 or 12 semi-finalists.

The committee meets again on the Monday before Thanksgiving to select the three finalists. The names of these finalists are submitted to a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players who vote to determine the winner. The three finalists are invited to the ESPN College Football Awards Show, and the winner is announced during the show.

Formal presentation of the Jim Thorpe Award takes place at ceremonies in Oklahoma City on the first Tuesday in February following the national signing date for college football recruits.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,

2010 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List:

Prince Amukamara - CB - Nebraska

Duke Ihenacho - S - San Jose State

Mark Barron - S - Alabama

Jaiquwn Jarrett - S - Temple

Brandon Boykin - CB - Georgia

Janoris Jenkins - CB - Florida

Curtis Brown - CB - Texas

Jeron Johnson - S - Boise State

Kendric Burney - CB - North Carolina

Tejay Johnson - S - TCU

Brandon Burton - CB - Utah

Shiloh Keo - S - Idaho

Rashad Carmichael - CB - Virginia Tech

Brian Lainhart - S - Kent State

Quinton Carter - S - Oklahoma

DeAndre McDaniel - S - Clemson

Chimdi Chekwa - CB - Ohio State

Rahim Moore - S - UCLA

Don Decicco - S - Pittsburgh

Johnny Patrick - CB - Louisville

Ras-1 Dowling - CB - Virginia

Patrick Peterson - CB - LSU

Blake Gideon - S - Texas

Tyler Sash - S - Iowa

Stephen Gilmore - CB - South Carolina

Robert Sands - S - West Virginia

Brandon Harris - CB - Miami

Jimmy Smith - CB - Colorado

Will Hill - S - Florida

Trevin Wade - CB - Arizona

Jermale Hines - S - Ohio State

Deunta Williams - S - North Carolina

Brandon Hogan - CB - West Virginia

Aaron Williams - CB - Texas

Davon House - CB - New Mexico State

FEATURED PRODUCT is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.