May 6, 2007

Pump N' Run take title

Day three at the Jayhawk Invitational was a competitive one, as teams began to smell the championship game in their respective age groups. For the third year in a row, L.J. Goolsby's KC Pump N Run took home the 17 U title behind solid play from stars Steve Moore, Dominique Morrison, and Denver Holmes. Sophomore sensation Michael Dixon led the 16 U KC Pump N Run to the title as well. Xavier Henry and Athletes First were knocked out in the morning session, clearing the path for Pump N Run to take home the championship.

Featuring its largest field ever, the Jayhawk Invitational seemed wide open for the taking in 2007. Heading in, KC Pump N Run returned as back-to-back defending champs, but did so without former stars Tyrel Reed and Conner Teahan, as well as current team member Travis Releford, who opted to practice with his Adidas Nations teammates.

Regardless of the missing pieces from past championship teams, KC Pump N' Run was considered the favorite with stars like Moore, Marcus Denmon, Morrison, and Holmes.

Goolsby's squad took care of business over the first two days of the tournament, but faced the challenge of winning three games on Sunday to take home their third championship.

Sunday's early session was played without star Denmon, who apparently couldn't find a ride to Lawrence. Luckily for Denmon, his teammates picked up the slack, led by 6-foot-4 guard Holmes, who made play after play, including several tough threes over charging defenders, lifting KC to the next round to take on the St. Louis Eagles.

...More... To continue reading this article you must be a member. Sign Up Now!